Version Locking allows users to lock creative versions in the Creative Library, this prevents the version from being edited without first being unlocked.

How does it work?

By selecting the Lock option from the dropdown menu in the version list, you can lock any of the available versions. Once a version is locked, it cannot be deleted from the versions list.

Lock option in the dropdown menu

A pop-up notification will appear asking you to confirm if the selected version needs to be locked. Once you have confirmed, a lock will appear on the icon indicating that the version has been successfully locked.

One of the key purposes of version locking is helping teams ensure that a creative version in their library can remain an accurate record of any creative assets live on ad networks that originate from that version. To that end, creative versions are automatically locked when they are published and the resulting submission's status switches from Pending to Published.

It is possible to modify the version again by unlocking it. However, we strongly advise against this and instead recommend that you duplicate the version and edit the new copy. This allows you to keep a canonical record of the published creative version in your Creative Library.


In the versions list, users can unlock a locked version by selecting the Unlock option from the drop-down menu next to the version.

unlock option in dropdown menu

Did this answer your question?